2009-09-25 11:51:47.037

Roberts to Chair Missouri Lottery Commission

Story Photo Kevin Roberts of Hillsboro was elected chairman of the Missouri Lottery Commission during the commission’s quarterly meeting on Sept. 23.  Roberts replaces Celeste Witzel of St. Louis, who served as the commission’s chair since April 2007.

“The commission looks forward to working with Gov. Nixon and the General Assembly to explore avenues to improve the Lottery and increase the dollars it provides for public education in Missouri,” said Roberts.

Roberts is a partner in the law firm of Roberts, Wooten & Zimmer, L.L.C.  He has a bachelor’s degree from South Dakota State University and a juris doctor degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

The Missouri Lottery Commission is a five-member commission, appointed by the governor and approved by the Senate, to govern the Lottery.  The four other commissioners are Gina Hoagland of Ladue, Jacque Land of St. Louis, Stephen Snead of Turners and Pamela Wright of University City.

The Missouri Lottery generates nearly $1 billion a year in sales and contributes more than $259 million annually to Missouri public education programs, including the A+ Scholarship Program, the Virtual Schools program, Special Education Excess Costs and the Vocational Rehabilitation Program. 

Bookmark and Share

Follow Us On