2008-12-09 15:59:23.067

Courthouse Employees Named Lottery Team of the Month

Story Photo

Congratulations to the “Camden County Courthouse Employees” from Camdenton!  The group was recognized as the December Lottery Team of the Month as part of the Missouri Lottery’s 2008 Lottery Captains promotion.  Each month, the promotion awards a Lottery group with prizes and a feature at Molottery.com.
The group consists of 66 co-workers representing all 12 offices at the Camden County Courthouse.  Spearheaded by team captain Jennifer Eblen in the Waste Water Department, the team won a $10,000 Powerball prize in August of 2007.

“Determination and hopes to win big” were among the reasons Eblen gave for her willingness to organize so many team members for their twice-a-week purchase of Powerball or Missouri Lotto tickets.  “It didn’t hurt to win the 10 grand either,” she laughed.  “Now we know it can happen.” 

While that experience went very smoothly, she said it “got them thinking” about how they would handle it if they won a large jackpot.

“We keep track of everything,” she said, noting that each office has what was quickly dubbed a “mini captain” to collect money from all team members in their area every Wednesday and Friday.  

For each drawing, mini captains fill out forms to document their collections and then distribute copies to the various courthouse offices, along with copies of all the purchased tickets.

They also have a plan of action for smaller winnings. 

“Anything you don’t have to send in for, we roll it over” to the next drawing, she shared.  “The key is to keep good records on who is playing and never give up.”

While it’s difficult to imagine just how 66 Missouri Lottery winners would use their winnings in the event of a large jackpot hit, Eblen said they’ve often joked about having someone come to the courthouse in an RV to pick them all up and take them to Jefferson City to claim their prize.

“Camden County Courthouse Employee” team members are:  Paul Wiese of Aurora; Kandy Baudo, Tony Beabout, Wes Bearden, Jimmy Brashears, Valerie Brashears, Vicky Burns, Warren Cady, Kaye Carroll, Jenny Davis, Sandra Dear, Tabitha Eblen, Shana Emery, Becky Farris, Christy Fera, Ron Gentry, Elaine Gilley, Thom Gumm, Chris Hall, Trish Lapardus, Mike Marshall, Brenda Miller, Ken Olive, Dana Polston, Patti Smith, Ron Smith, Jim Stewart, Linda Stewart, Rowland Todd, Tammy Williams and Gaila Wilson, all of Camdenton; Brooke Wolfe of Climax Springs; Donna Scheiter of Gravois Mills; Bob Anderson of Lake Ozark; Teresa Murray and Brenda “Sam” Stoner of Lebanon; Pat Bennett, DeDe Chasin, Merle Cross, Virginia Dannatt, Jennifer Eblen, Wayne Freetley, Janet Fry, Barbara Stamper and Tiffany Williams, all of Linn Creek; Leslie Chamberlin, Shelly Davis, Stacy Kinney, Becky Lenshyn, Melvin Miller, Barbara Willis and Terry Willis, all of Macks Creek; Crystal Folks, Tricia Shrauger, Donnie Snelling, Sandy Snelling and Linda Sweatt, all of Montreal; Pat Shellabarger, Kathy Swan and Deanna Walton, all of Osage Beach; Lisa Malick and Dian Mueller, both of Preston; Kayla Ellett of Richland; Linda Ansmeyer of Roach; Pam Newell of Stoutland; and Diana Bierman of Sunrise Beach.

Tell us about your players group!  Visit the Lottery Captains Promotion page for details. 

 |  About Us |  Careers |  Calendar |  Play Responsibly |  Where to Play |  Game Rules

Visit Us On

Players must be 18 years or older to purchase Missouri Lottery tickets.

*In the event of a discrepancy, official winning numbers prevail over any numbers posted on this website.